The Chakra System

Chakras are energy centers located on the body.  We have many different chakras, but there are seven main chakras.  Each of the seven chakras govern different systems of the body and relate to various physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual factors.  the chakras are a cone shape and generally rotate in a clockwise direction.  Some people also visualize the chakra as spherical in shape.  Our chakras can become over active or under active if there is not enough or to much energy flowing through them.  These energy centers can become out of balance by the things that happen in our lives, the people we spend time with, and spiritual states.  The seven main chakras are; the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus chakra, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the third eye chakra, and the crown chakra.  In working with balancing and healing the chakras, you generally want to start with the first chakra and work your way up the chakra system.  You can also focus on healing the chakras that are the most out of balance first and then work with the more balanced chakras later. The energy of our chakras is constantly changing and even after balancing our chakras, they can quickly become out of balance again by the events that happen in our lives.  Healing and growing are part of the process of life.  The more we are aware and tend to our well being on a regular basis the more balances we will be.

chakra vortex

The Seven Chakras

Chakra One: The Root Chakra (Muladhara)
The root chakra is located at the base of the spine.  It is related to the kidneys, blood, skeletal system, and adrenal gland.  This chakra governs our basic needs and becomes out of balance when those needs are not met.  The element for this chakra is earth and it relates to patience, structure, stability, security, and the ability to manifest dreams in the physical realm. Emotionally, aggression affects this chakra and we can find ourselves holding onto anger and fear.

Chakra Two: The Sacral Chakra (Svadhistana)
The sacral chakra is located just below the belly button and is related to the sexual organs, bladder, uterus, and prostate.  This chakra controls our physical health and well-being, our motion and emotion. the element for this chakra is water and relates to sexuality, sensuality, and pleasure.  Emotionally, frustration can build up in this chakra when we feel like we a lacking or undeserving of joy, love, pleasure, or money.  Guilt can also be held onto in this chakra.

Chakra Three: The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
The solar plexus chakra is located above the stomach and below the sternum and is related to the stomach, liver, gallbladder, pancreas, small intestines, and muscles.  This chakra is the center of our personal identity, personal power, and self-confidence. The element for this chakra is fire.

Chakra Four: The Heart Chakra (Anahata)
The heart chakra controls the pericardium, heart, lungs, thymus gland, and circulation.  The heart chakra is at the center of our energetic systemand moves love throughout our lives.  This chakra helps to create a sense of unity, love, peace, purity, and innocence.  Emotionally, we can experience joy and compassion or we may be holding on to grief.

Chakra Five: The Throat Chakra (Vishudha)
The throat chakra controls the throat, mouth, teeth, jaw, ears, and thyroid.  This chakra is in balance when we speak our truth.  It governs our will, communication, creativity, truthfulness, and integrity.  This chakra is controlled by our mind and so our thoughts can affect it.  When we are able to clear our mind we are able ot hear the voice of spirt.

Chakra Six: The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)
This chakra is located just above and between the eyebrows. It controls the eyes, sinuses, base of skull, temporal lobes, and pituitary gland. This chakra is our center for intuition, wisdom, discernment, imagination, and knowledge.

Chakra Seven: The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)
This chakra is located at the top of the hear and controls the upper skull, cerebral cortex, skin, and pineal gland.  The chakra connects us with spirituality and divine realms. It is here we experience grace, beauty, serenity, and oneness with all that is.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: